The National Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards were held at Government House, Canberra on Friday 20 October 2023.

Representing a Victorian sponsor agency, Inspector-General Tony Pearce attended the ceremony hosted by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) and Her Excellency Mrs Linda Hurley.

Victorian award winners Graham Symons (Country Fire Authority - Omeo) and Tyson Taylor (Fire Rescue Victoria) joined the other state winners on a perfect spring day.

All the award representatives were great examples of providing Rotary's 'service above self' and supporting their communities. 

Attendees also included representatives of Rotary and leaders from the emergency service sector across Victoria, NSW and the ACT. 

Our congratulations to Graham Symons on being recognised as the National RESCA Volunteer capacity winner, and Erin Pogmore (NSW SES) recognised as National RESCA Paid capacity winner.





Pictured left-to-right

Grant Hocking ASM (Rotary Victorian Awards Chair), Rick Nugent APM (Emergency Management Commissioner), Siusan MacKenzie (CEO - Emergency Services Foundation), Governor-General David Hurley, Inspector-General Tony Pearce, Graham Symons (CFA volunteer and National Awards recipient), Garry Cook (Deputy Chief Officer - CFA)


The ceremony was followed by morning tea at Government House where Graham was congratulated along with the National RESCA Paid winner Erin Pogmore from NSW SES. 

The Rotary Awards website has information about Graham and Erin (External link) and the ceremony photos (External link).

About the awards

Rotary Emergency Services Community Awards asks the community to help recognise outstanding community service performed by paid and volunteer members of emergency service agencies.

Nominations for the 2024 Awards opens 1 March 2024.