The Resilient Australia Awards celebrate initiatives that build whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia, as well as images capturing resilience in action.

The awards also recognise collaboration and innovative thinking across all sectors.

Now in its 21st year, the awards recognise outstanding contributions in each state and territory in six categories:

  • community
  • business
  • local government
  • government
  • school
  • photography.

The program recognises a wide range of initiatives; with past projects centred on risk assessment and mitigation; education, training and research; and community engagement, as well as response and recovery.

Entries in the 2020 awards must relate to projects or initiatives commenced after 1 January 2018 or demonstrate significant outcomes or enhancements since 1 January 2018.

Submissions are open until 8 June 2020.

The Resilient Australia Awards is proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in partnership with the states and territories and managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (AIDR).

For more information on the awards, entering, and nominating go to (External link)